Naismith Trophy to Dayton College Basketball Player

In college basketball, Dayton's Obi Toppin and Oregon's Sabrina Lonescu have won the Naismith Trophy recognizing the top men's and women's players in college basketball.

Toppin, previously named the Associated Press' men's national player of the year, averaged 20 points and 7.5 rebounds per game during his sophomore season to lead the Flyers to a school-record 29 wins and a final ranking of No. 3 in the AP poll.

Lonescu, the only player - male or female - in college basketball history with 2,000 career points, 1,000 rebounds and 1,000 assists, averaged 17.5 points, 9.1 assists and 8.6 rebounds to add to her accolades after also previously taking home AP player of the year honors.

Dayton's Anthony Grant was named the Naismith men's coach of the year.

1490 WBEX · Chillicothe's Info To Go

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel